Reward for 24 women for role in Telangana agitation

 Telangana | Written by : Suryaa Desk Updated: Tue, Mar 07, 2017, 05:06 PM

HYDERABAD: On the day of International Women's Day on Wednesday, the Telangana government will dole out special awards to 24 women recognizing their services to the state. Interestingly, most of the awardees are those who have participated in the Telangana movement. Acting on the directions of chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao, the women and child development department has finalised the list of awardees for whom Rs 1lakh cash award and a citation will be presented by the chief minister on Wednesday. The state government has also declared optional holiday for all women employees on that day.

Under social service category, Tirunagari Devakidevi from Mahabubnagar was selected for her active participation in the Telangana movement in the 1969 and in the second movements. Under the Telangana movement category, S Manemma from Uppal, Dhatrika Swapna from Hyde rabad and Moola Vijaya Reddy from Peddapalli were also selected for the award. Again in the professional services category, Prameela from Mancheryal was selected for her active participation in the Telangana movement.

Under the Songs in Telangana movement category, Chaitanya and Swapna from Nalgonda and Karimangar were selected for 'spreading the spirit of Telangana movement through songs'. The first women vice chancellor of Kakatiya Unviersity Dr Vidyavati, two woman farmers Duddeda Sugunamma from Katkoor and and Nagamani from Dosapadu, as well as two visually challenged women Janaki and Gayatri, were selected for the award. Priyadarshini from Warangal, who won the gold medal in weight lifting in the Commonwealth Games and M Padma, Sarpanch, Gollapalli, Timmapur, Karimnagar and sarpanch Kumbhala Lakshmi, Ibrahimnagar, Siddipet, were selected for the award for striving for 100 per cent cashless transactions in their villages.